NYFW | Threeasfour x Stratasys

Deux robes en impression 3D dans un matériau ultra souple

Le label newyorkais Threeasfour a dévoilé au cours de leur défilé Automne-Hiver 2016 à New York, une paire de deux robes imprimées en 3D conçues en collaboration avec le créateur Travis Fitch et l’entreprise d’impression 3D Stratasys. S’inscrivant au sein de la très attendue collection « Biomimétisme », les deux robes ont été pensées pour refléter « les possibilités dévoilées à l’intersection de la mode, du design et de la technologie ».

Threeasfour est dirigée par Gabi Asfour, Angela Donhauser et Adi Gil. Le collectif s’est forgé une réputation en associant la technologie de pointe avec le savoir-faire traditionnel pour créer des vêtements à la frontière de la mode, la sculpture et le mysticisme.

Intitulées Harmonograph et Pangolin, les robes sont décrites par Gil comme “les robes en impression 3D les plus technologiquement avancées à ce jour ».

« Depuis le croquis jusqu’à la réalisation tout est fait pour maximiser le potentiel inhérent à la technologie. En tant qu’artiste et créateurs de mode, c’est notre devoir et notre nature d’explorer les frontières des nouvelles opportunités technologiques, et de repousser les limites de la création des formes. » ajoute Gil.

Le plus excitant dans ce projet ? C’est la première démonstration du matériau à la Technologie Elastomère Nano-Optimisée par Stratasys. Une matière extrêmement flexible et durable, qui représente un vrai pas en avant pour l’impression 3D et le design de mode. A base d’acrylique, il ressemble à du caoutchouc, « le matériau idéal pour de nombreuses applications et industries notamment l’automobile, les produits manufacturés, l’électronique de maison ou les outils médicaux. Il sera disponible à la vente fin 2016 » ajoute l’entreprise.

threeasfour

La robe HARMONOGRAPH est nommée d’aprés un outil mécanique qui utilisait des pendules afin de créer des forms géométriques. Elle forme trois spirales autour du corps, imitant la suite de Fibonacci. Crédit photo : Matt Carasella

Pangolin

La robe PANGOLIN est faite de fibres entremêlées qui créées comme une nouvelle peau. Crédit photo : Matt Carasella

 

Subscribe
There's always more to discover. Subscribe to our newsletter to explore the unfound.

NYFW | Threeasfour x Stratasys: 3D printed dresses using a new rubber-like material

in brief

The New York based Threeasfour label unveiled a pair of 3D printed dresses during their AW16 show at NYFW, made in collaboration with designer Travis Fitch and 3D printing company Stratasys. Part of the much awaited Biomimicry collection, the dresses are intended to demonstrate the “possibilities unfolding at the intersection of fashion, design and technology”.

The New York based Threeasfour label unveiled a pair of 3D printed dresses during their AW16 show at NYFW, made in collaboration with designer Travis Fitch and 3D printing company Stratasys. Part of the much awaited Biomimicry collection, the dresses are intended to demonstrate the “possibilities unfolding at the intersection of fashion, design and technology”.

Threeasfour is led by designers Gabi Asfour, Angela Donhauser and Adi Gil. The collective has built a legacy of fusing cutting-edge technology with traditional craftsmanship to create clothing at the intersection of fashion, sculpture, and mysticism.

Named Harmonograph and Pangolin, the dresses are described by Gil as “the most advanced 3D-printed dresses that we have created to date”.

“The entire design, from its initial conception was intended to maximise the potentials inherent to this technology. As artists and designers, it is our prerogative, and our nature, to explore the bounds of new technological opportunities, and to push the limits of the way in which forms are created,” Gil added.

The most exciting thing about this project? It’s the first demonstration of a special Nano Enhanced Elastomeric Technology material from Stratasys, which has extreme flexibility and durability, and represents a big step forward for 3D printed fashion design. Acrylic-based, the material is similar to rubber. “The material will also be ideal for additional applications and industries, such as automotive, consumer goods, consumer electronics and medical devices. It will be commercially available later in 2016” the company added.

threeasfour

The 3D PRINTED HARMONOGRAPH DRESS is named after a mechanical device that uses pendulums to create geometric images. Its three spirals circle around the body, mimicking the Fibonacci sequence. Photo credit: Matt Carasella

Pangolin

The 3D PRINTED PANGOLIN DRESS has interlocking weaves that form a single skin. Photo credit: Matt Carasella

Subscribe
There's always more to discover. Subscribe to our newsletter to explore the unfound.