PFW | Le Data Center Chanel

Un mix entre années 80s, 90s et de notre obsession pour la technologie

temps de lecture: 2 mn

La Fashion Week de Paris est presque finie et une fois encore Chanel a suscité l’attention générale avec la toute nouvelle idée de Kaiser Karl. Après le supermarché, le casino ou encore l’aéroport, c’est désormais le défilé digital-friendly de Chanel qui déchaine les foules.

De manière à toujours plus impressionner son public pour le défile S-S 2017, Chanel a décidé de transformer le Grand Palais en un Data Center avec des processeurs informatiques géants formant des allées. Une bonne façon pour Lagerfeld et ses équipes d’exprimer la nouvelle vision de la mode par Chanel : le futur sera digital ou ne sera pas. Ainsi, Chanel a réussi à apporter une réponse à une des questions cruciales que pose notre époque : comment allons-nous adapter nos tradition et héritage à l’ère digitale ?

Pour matérialiser sa réponse, Lagerfeld a introduit dans son defile des robots portant le tailleur légendaire de Chanel. Le défilé, introduit par ces robots – à mi-chemin entre des Stormtroopers et les Daft Punk – habillés comme Coco, a été envahi par la vision futuriste de Karl. A l’intérieur de ce que l’on aurait pu nommer le « Chanel Data Center » les modèles ont présenté des looks influencés par le streetwear, des sacs à LED, etc. lesquels avaient pour objectif de perturber l’ordre établi de la maison de couture française.

L’un des sacs à LED, crédit photo CHANEL

Ce qui pourrait paraître gadget (oui, des LEDs sur un sac, on n’est pas sûrs que ce soit une innovation majeure !), présage d’une vision authentique du futur de l’industrie de la mode. Prenant en compte les changements de notre monde, Karl reconnaît le rôle qu’a et aura à jouer la technologie dans la mode.

Pour une marque comme Chanel, qui a boudé pendant très (trop ?) longtemps le e-commerce, c’est une affirmation de taille : la marque a montré son interprétation créative de la place de la technologie dans la mode, et ce n’est qu’un début.

decor_chanel_clausette

Le décor, crédit photo CHANEL

robots_chanel_datacenter_clausette

Les robots, crédit photo CHANEL

led_bag_chanel_clausette_3

Subscribe
There's always more to discover. Subscribe to our newsletter to explore the unfound.

PFW | Chanel Data Center

A mashup of the '80s, '90s and our obsession with today's tech

2 min read

Paris Fashion Week is almost over and once again Chanel has sparked massive attention with Kaiser Karl’s brand new idea. After the supermarket, the casino or the airport, it is Chanel’s digital fashion show that is raging. In order to wow people for the spring-summer 2017 show, Chanel has chosen to turn the Grand Palais into a data center of sorts with giant computer processors forming aisles through the space.

A good way for Karl Lagerfeld and his team to express Chanel’s new vision of fashion: the future will be all about digital. Thus Chanel has succeeded to deal with one of the burning current issue: how are we going to adapt our tradition and heritage to the digital crucial omnipresence?

To illustrate his answer, Lagerfeld introduced robots wearing the legendary and almost sacred Chanel suit. Initiated with Coco-like tailored robots, the fashion show was invaded by futurism, digital and technological-inspired outfits. Inside what one could call the “Chanel Data Center”, the models displayed looks influenced by streetwear which aimed at disrupting the traditional and strongly implemented French house’s legacy, and featured LED bags…

One of the LED bags, photo courtesy of CHANEL

What might look as gimmicky (LED bags are definitely not what we consider a major progress for fashion), foresees an authentic vision of the future of the fashion industry. Taking into account that our world has changed and continues to evolve, Karl acknowledges that technology has a big and promising role to play in fashion.

For a brand like Chanel, who refused to do e-commerce for quite a long time, it’s a major breakthrough: the brand showcased its creative interpretation of technology in fashion, and we’re sure we’re going to see more tech at Chanel, and this is something really exciting.

decor_chanel_clausette

The set, photo courtesy of CHANEL

robots_chanel_datacenter_clausette

The robots, photo courtesy of CHANEL

led_bag_chanel_clausette_3

One of the LED bags, photo courtesy of CHANEL

Subscribe
There's always more to discover. Subscribe to our newsletter to explore the unfound.